May the force be with her

So, yesterday, as much as I didn’t want to believe it, 2016 has snatched another icon right from up under us in an instant. When I heard Carrie Fisher was in the hospital, I had hoped that she would recover from her heart attack. I had so much hope, I prayed, I pleaded, and then it happened. She’s gone. carrie-fisher-obit-4

What makes it even sadder is that her mother is now gone too. It must have been hard for her to even realize or comprehend that her 60 year old brilliant daughter was gone just like that. She couldn’t deal. I don’t think I would have been able to deal with that either. Honestly, as a Star Wars fan, I didn’t really get into the movies until the prequels started- I was an angry kid who wanted to know what happened before all the stories with Darth Vader and his great kids Luke and Leia. I wanted to know all of it. Once I knew that, I was able to better appreciate the story itself.

princess-leia I’ll admit that I don’t know much about Carrie’s acting other than her role as Leia. I may have seen her in other movies, or even on television, but I don’t really remember. Her time as Leia made me get even more into science fiction because she was a strong, positive female character and we need more of them. Even up to her time as General Leia in the most recent film, The Force Awakens, I was still amazed by her. She’s always going to be our princess, no doubt about that. In a way, it is heart wrenching to see that in the movies that Han Solo is gone and now Leia is too. general-leia-organa-2I could have cried, but I didn’t. Instead I got really mad. So many people passed this year and I wish it would just end already. But I know one thing, and it is that I will never forget her. None of us will. We’re angry now, but as Yoda has told us:

“Death is a natural part of life. Rejoice for those around you who transform into the force.”

 

Leave a Reply

